Election Recommendations

The Fresno Bee recommends


Edmund G. "Jerry" Brown (D)

Lieutenant Governor

Gavin Newsom (D)

Secretary of State

Pete Peterson (R)


Ashley Swearengin (R)


John Chiang (D)

Attorney General

Kamala D. Harris (D)

Insurance Commissioner

Dave Jones (D)

Superintendent of Public Instruction

Marshall Tuck (D)

Board of Equalization District 1

George Runner (R)

4th Congressional District

Art Moore (R)

16th Congressional District

Jim Costa (D)

21st Congressional District

Amanda Renteria (D)

22nd Congressional District

Devin G. Nunes (R)

State Senate District 8

Tom Berryhill (R)

State Senate District 12

Anthony Cannella (R)

State Senate District 14

Luis Chavez (D)

Assembly District 21

Adam Gray (D)

Assembly District 26

Rudy Mendoza (R)

Assembly District 31

Henry T. Perea (D)

Assembly District 32

Rudy Salas (D)

State Supreme Court

Mariano-Florentino Cuellar: Yes

Kathryn Mickle Werdegar: Yes

Goodwin Liu: Yes

Fifth District Court of Appeal

Dennis Cornell: Yes

Gene M. Gomes: Yes

Rosendo Pena: Yes

Stephen J. Kane: Yes

Donald R. Franson Jr.: Yes

Fresno County Superior Court Judge Seat No. 15

Rachel Hill

Fresno County Supervisor

District 1: Brian Pacheco

District 4: Ernest "Buddy" Mendes

Fresno City Council

District 1: Cary Catalano

Fresno County Measure Z (zoo sales tax renewal): Yes

Fresno Unified School District

Area 1: Debbie Darden

Area 3: Valerie Davis

Area 7: Brooke Ashjian

State Center Community College District

Area 1: Robert "Bobby" Kahn

Area 5: Miguel Arias


Prop. 1 (water bond): Yes

Prop. 2 (rainy day budgeting): Yes

Prop. 45 (health insurance rate approval): Yes

Prop. 46 (raise medical malpractice cap): Yes

Prop. 47 (criminal sentencing reform): No

Prop. 48 (Indian casino north of Madera): No