Fresno State Basketball

Fresno State men's basketball: Marvelle Harris earns coaches' All-District honor

Fresno State guard Marvelle Harris was named Friday to the National Association of Basketball Coaches' All-District 17 first team, the only non-senior among the group of five Mountain West Conference players to receive the honor.

Boise State's Derrick Marks, Wyoming's Larry Nance Jr., Colorado State's J.J. Avila and San Diego State's J.J. O’Brien also were selected by the NABC, which names all-district teams in 24 regions that are divided by conference affiliation.

Harris led the Mountain West in steals (65) and was second in assists (3.8 per game) and scoring (526) while averaging 16.4 points and 4.9 rebounds for a Fresno State team that finished 15-17 after a quarterfinal loss in its opening game at the conference tournament.

National Association of Basketball Coaches All-District 17

First Team

Derrtick Marks, Boise State

Larry Nance Jr., Wyoming

J.J. Avila, Colorado State

J.J. O'Brien, San Diego State

Marvelle Harris, Fresno State

Second Team

Jalen Moore, Utah State

Rashan Vaughn, UNLV

Christian Wood, UNLV

Hugh Greenwood, New Mexico

A.J. West, Nevada