<![CDATA[David 'Mas' Masumoto: Opinion Columns & Blogs | The Fresno Bee & FresnoBee.com]]> http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/ en-us Mon, 27 Jul 2015 13:17:19 PDT http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss McClatchy Interactive's Escenic Mon, 27 Jul 2015 13:17:19 PDT David 'Mas' Masumoto 60 gfunk@fresnobee.com Un-natural disasters we often bring on ourselves http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article174890226.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Sat, 23 Sep 2017 13:00:00 PDT

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article174890226.html
I talk to our farm dogs, and Science says they understand me http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article168768557.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Sat, 26 Aug 2017 14:08:00 PDT

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article168768557.html
On farming and the art of repair, and extending the lives of old things http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article157732989.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Mon, 26 Jun 2017 07:42:22 PDT

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article157732989.html
‘I discovered that listening is love’ – the priceless art of storytelling http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article152718314.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Sat, 27 May 2017 03:36:00 PDT

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article152718314.html
In Trump landscape, 1970s book ‘Rules for Radicals’ is a playbook for both sides http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article147513854.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Sat, 29 Apr 2017 15:00:00 PDT

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article147513854.html
Who belongs here and who doesn’t? http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article140601448.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Sat, 25 Mar 2017 14:37:00 PDT

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article140601448.html
Remembering the pain and shame of Japanese American internment http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article133356779.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Fri, 17 Feb 2017 13:00:00 PST

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article133356779.html
That’s not true: Stand guard against internet’s fake news virus http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article129209309.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Sat, 28 Jan 2017 12:41:00 PST

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article129209309.html
What kind of legacy are you creating? http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article119837903.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Sat, 10 Dec 2016 17:23:00 PST

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article119837903.html
My father’s Cubbies http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article114216928.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Sat, 12 Nov 2016 13:30:00 PST

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article114216928.html
Farms and food forgotten in 2016 campaign http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article106770102.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Sat, 08 Oct 2016 14:40:00 PDT

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article106770102.html
Voter shaming: What if the neighbors knew you didn’t vote? http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article103710882.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Fri, 23 Sep 2016 11:56:26 PDT

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article103710882.html
My grandmother became a Gold Star Mother while held captive http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article95215482.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Sat, 13 Aug 2016 13:00:00 PDT

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article95215482.html
Finding the right words to say ‘Happy Birthday’ with meaning http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article92379487.html#storylink=rss A husband’s annual stroll through the what-do-I-say-this-year minefield

Click to Continue »]]>
Sat, 30 Jul 2016 11:46:00 PDT

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article92379487.html
Letters leave a legacy to teachers who had an impact http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article85862402.html#storylink=rss Write a letter to a teacher to let them know how much you appreciated them

Writing letters makes me aware of how the best teachers go above and beyond

Click to Continue »]]>
Sat, 25 Jun 2016 14:48:00 PDT

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article85862402.html
Lost California: Those who do not vote http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article80499232.html#storylink=rss Elections divide our state into the haves and the have-nots

One camp has distinct opinions on the role of government, social services and initiatives

The other remains disconnected and may well be ignored by elected representatives

Click to Continue »]]>
Sat, 28 May 2016 15:26:00 PDT

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article80499232.html
Documentary captures Masumotos in real life http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article73488632.html#storylink=rss A camera crew filmed our home and family farm for over a year and a half on 14 different stays

Our story focuses on a family coping with succession as a daughter takes over a farm

Authenticity dominates every scene

Click to Continue »]]>
Sat, 23 Apr 2016 06:30:00 PDT

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article73488632.html
David ‘Mas’ Masumoto: Who tells the story? http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article68036957.html#storylink=rss More and more, the support for local journalism is declining

We must beware falling into a trap, thinking no news is good news

We will miss local investigative reporting after it’s gone

Click to Continue »]]>
Sat, 26 Mar 2016 06:54:00 PDT

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article68036957.html
David Mas Masumoto: How our use of language can frame our future http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article62515277.html#storylink=rss Our attitudes about the future is reflected in our language

In English, we distinguish between present and future: “I go” vs. “I will go”

Other languages don’t, and people who speak that way save more money for the future

Click to Continue »]]>
Sat, 27 Feb 2016 06:54:00 PST

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article62515277.html
David Mas Masumoto: Identifying the enemy by the faces they wear http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article57085708.html#storylink=rss My parents were suddenly labeled as the enemy after Pearl Harbor

You can’t single out a terrorist by appearance

Enemies are those who promote hate and harm of others, not those with Asian features or turbans

Click to Continue »]]>
Sat, 30 Jan 2016 04:00:00 PST

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article57085708.html
David Mas Masumoto: My Christmas tree http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article50322920.html#storylink=rss Those aluminum Christmas trees of the 1960s are suddenly popular again

Their first reign was short, thanks to ‘A Charlie Brown Christmas’

Colortone Electric Roto-Wheel bathed aluminum trees in sparkling colors

Click to Continue »]]>
Sat, 19 Dec 2015 06:00:00 PST

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article50322920.html
David Mas Masumoto: Giving Tuesday bucks shopping frenzy http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article46340110.html#storylink=rss On Tuesday following Thanksgiving, it is time to give from the heart

Valley has the greatest need, yet least organized giving

Millenials prefer medical, education giving; Baby Boomers donate to churches

Click to Continue »]]>
Sat, 28 Nov 2015 09:26:00 PST

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/david-mas-masumoto/article46340110.html