<![CDATA[Armen Bacon: Opinion Columns & Blogs |]]> http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/ en-us Thu, 18 Jan 2018 13:36:48 PST http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss McClatchy Interactive's Escenic Thu, 18 Jan 2018 13:36:48 PST Armen Bacon 60 gfunk@fresnobee.com What can we do tomorrow? Armen Bacon has an answer http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article170886592.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Sat, 02 Sep 2017 14:00:00 PDT

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article170886592.html
My son died of a drug overdose. I collapsed. Then I opened grief’s unexpected gift. http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article159173184.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Sat, 01 Jul 2017 13:16:00 PDT

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article159173184.html
‘Drama queens’ become Broadway babes for a week http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article154134589.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Sat, 03 Jun 2017 12:40:00 PDT

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article154134589.html
At 91, Mom still is living out loud http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article151655212.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Sat, 20 May 2017 12:27:00 PDT

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article151655212.html
‘Our revenge will be to survive’ http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article145722099.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Thu, 20 Apr 2017 09:41:00 PDT

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article145722099.html
How growing up in Fresno helped me navigate the world http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article141557334.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Sat, 01 Apr 2017 14:29:00 PDT

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article141557334.html
The too-muchness of life http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article135824788.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Sat, 04 Mar 2017 13:37:00 PST

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article135824788.html
Worshipping the beauty of humankind http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article130675964.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Sat, 04 Feb 2017 12:55:00 PST

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article130675964.html
Cleaning up my act and singin’ in the rain http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article124604849.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Sat, 07 Jan 2017 15:58:00 PST

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article124604849.html
Armen Bacon’s Christmas wish: May you fall asleep counting your blessings http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article121427802.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Sat, 17 Dec 2016 14:29:00 PST

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article121427802.html
Goodbye, Norman Rockwell http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article116742083.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Sat, 26 Nov 2016 12:15:00 PST

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article116742083.html
When troubles melt like lemon drops http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article112589008.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Sat, 05 Nov 2016 12:49:00 PDT

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article112589008.html
Bring kindness to our little corner of the world http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article109669172.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Sat, 22 Oct 2016 11:12:00 PDT

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article109669172.html
The Long and Winding Road http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article104694391.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Sat, 01 Oct 2016 12:33:00 PDT

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article104694391.html
The pearls and perils of motherhood http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article99146522.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Sat, 03 Sep 2016 16:19:00 PDT

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article99146522.html
When grief is everywhere http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article90375137.html#storylink=rss July 17 marked year 12 of son Alex’s passing

This year it is especially daunting since the entire nation also grieves – blanketed in its own unique, complicated sorrow

Grief is not something you get over; any way you get through it is heroic

Click to Continue »]]>
Sat, 23 Jul 2016 15:30:00 PDT

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article90375137.html
Love: Reimagined http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article87283292.html#storylink=rss Our nation longs for peace, understanding, tolerance, and love.

More lives cut short; 49 to be exact; I cannot stop seeing their faces.

I want to live in a world where guns are harder to get than ‘Hamilton’ tickets

Click to Continue »]]>
Sat, 02 Jul 2016 11:00:00 PDT

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article87283292.html
Living in prime time http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article81168977.html#storylink=rss My mom turned 90, my grandson became a teen, next month I celebrate 40 years of marriage

I keep telling myself I should be more consumed with the presidential election, but the real stuff of life continues to awe me with distraction

In my mail are invitations for one wedding, two graduations, and a beautiful luncheon invitation celebrating life, love and friendship

Click to Continue »]]>
Sat, 04 Jun 2016 13:08:00 PDT

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article81168977.html
A prescription for ‘social fasting’ http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article76796522.html#storylink=rss There is strangeness, a feeling of betrayal when illness or injury invades, then takes over your body and life

Dreams – well, nearly everything – are abruptly put on hold; nothing – not even one breath – is taken for granted

What I am learning is that we never know when the next shoe might drop; life is full of surprises

Click to Continue »]]>
Sat, 14 May 2016 13:45:00 PDT

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article76796522.html
In life, as in writing, you must learn to edit http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article72139812.html#storylink=rss Pneumonia has a chokehold on me as I lie flat on my back for the better part of a month

In an awkward state of convalescence, illness has grabbed my soul

I’m not exactly sure who I will be on the other side of this life-altering experience

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 15 Apr 2016 10:02:00 PDT

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article72139812.html
Armen Bacon: Fresno, the center of gravity for five writers http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article67031157.html#storylink=rss Two-week writing class at Fresno State gives birth to lifetime friendships

Five Fresno writers will talk about ‘worlds within the other California’ at prestigious conference

All add shape and form to this place called ‘home’

Click to Continue »]]>
Sat, 19 Mar 2016 07:30:00 PDT

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article67031157.html
Armen D. Bacon: Time lost and found – in Bakersfield http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article64133447.html#storylink=rss Dear friend in Los Angeles suggested we meet in middle

As college coeds, we studied together abroad in France

We were running away from home then, just as were doing now with Bakersfield as our Paris

Click to Continue »]]>
Sat, 05 Mar 2016 06:12:00 PST

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article64133447.html
Armen D. Bacon: Dinner with Marilyn http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article60129346.html#storylink=rss George Blair of Fresno remembers he was dining solo in Monterey back in the day, when he saw a beautiful woman also sitting alone in the restaurant

He asked the waiter to offer the young lady a drink

To his surprise, she said ‘yes’ and invited him to join her for dinner

Click to Continue »]]>
Sat, 13 Feb 2016 07:40:00 PST

]]>
http://www.fresnobee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/armen-bacon/article60129346.html