• Check out the business review of the company atwww.bbb.org/central-california-inland-empire
. If you are not sure who to call, use the BBB Request A Quote program. It’s free. Again just go to the BBB website.
• Verify the contractor’s license, insurance and bonding by calling the Contractors State License Board at (800) 321-2752 or by going online towww.cslb.ca.gov
• Obtain at least three written estimates.
• Before signing a contract, OBTAIN IN WRITING: start/completion dates; description of the work; payment schedules; materials to be installed; promises/guarantees on workmanship; and manufacturer’s guarantees. Be sure everything you will be paying for is in the contract.
• You are only required to pay 10% or $1,000, whichever is less, on a deposit of the work to be done.
• It is customary for some companies to file preliminary lien notices. Don’t panic. Check with the supplier to see if they have been paid by the contractor to avoid a lien being placed on your home and you having to pay twice.
• Be aware that California law limits the period within which a complaint may be filed against a contractor to three years from the date when the act or omission occurred.
• Do not sign off on a completed job until all the work has been properly completed.
• For more tips, get the brochure from the Contractor’s State License Board called “What You Should Know Before You Hire A Contractor” or visit theirwebsite
. You can also visit the BBB’s
for more tips.
BBB also has a complaint process and it is free. You can file a complaint with the BBB and/or the state contractor’s board. Any contracting work costing more than $500 requires a contractor’s license in California. The board has run several recent stings trying to weed out unlicensed contractors, so beware. Don’t assume that the license number a contractor shows you is legitimate; check it out.
You can also notify your local district attorney and your local police department if a crime is committed.