Fresno State football: Three Bulldogs make Lombardi watch list

The Fresno BeeJuly 14, 2014 

Three Fresno State football players are on the Rotary Lombardi Award 123-player watch list, the Houston-based organization announced Monday.

Senior defensive end Tyeler Davison, senior offensive lineman Cody Wichmann and junior linebacker Ejiro Ederaine are the three Bulldogs named to the list. Fresno State is one of 14 schools in the Football Bowl Subdivision to have three players make the Rotary Lombardi Award watch list.

Eligibility for the Rotary Lombardi Award is limited to down linemen, end-to-end, either on offense or defense, who set up no farther than 10 yards to the left or right of the ball, or linebackers who set up no farther than five yards deep from the line of scrimmage. The candidates earned a place on the preliminary watch list by earning All-American honors, being named to their respective all-conference teams or receiving 2014 preseason honors.

Davison is a two-time All-Mountain West selection. He has 100 career tackles, 15.5 tackles for loss, six sacks and three recovered fumbles, one of which went for a touchdown in 2012 at Nevada.

Wichmann, the top returning lineman for the Bulldog offense that led the nation in passing last season, has played the third-most snaps (2,824) of any FBS offensive linemen entering the season.

Both Davison and Wichmann are also on the Outland Trophy watch list.

Ederaine, who is on the College Football Performance Awards Linebacker Trophy watch list, was a second-team All-Mountain West selection in 2013 when he led the team with 16.5 tackles for loss - the sixth-most in school history - and 10 sacks.

The Fresno Bee is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service