Filing period wraps up for some extended Valley races

The Fresno BeeMarch 12, 2014 

Nominations closed Wednesday for a handful of local offices where the incumbent chose not to seek a new term. Most of the candidates had already qualified last Friday, when nominations for most offices closed. Several candidates completed their paperwork this week.

Here's a rundown on the seats where the filing period was extended, and who qualified.

Fresno County

District 1 Supervisor

Brian Pacheco, school trustee/farmer; Gary Yep, Kerman mayor/small businessman; John C. Flores, pastor; Blong Xiong, Fresno city council member; Frank Maldonado, teacher/construction carpenter.

District 4 Supervisor

Buddy Mendes, farmer/small business man; Daniel Parra, Fowler City Council member/military contractor; Steve Rapada, contracts officer; Magdalena Z. Gomez, financial legal coordinator; Amandip Singh Gill, no ballot designation given.

Kings County

District 4 Supervisor

Dolores Gallegos, a retired teacher and former Hanford council member; Craig Pedersen, farmer/business manager; Sue Sorensen, business owner/hygienist and former council member and school board member in Hanford; Justin Bond, U.S. Army, retired; Alan Danielson,businessman.


Dan Chin, independent businessman; A. Renee Faber, appraiser III; Kristine Lee, chief auditor-appraiser; Ed Lopez, appraiser, contractor.

Madera County

District 1 Supervisor

Ray Krause Jr., winegrower/businessman; Brett F. Frazier, small business owner; Gary Johns, small business man; Rochelle Minneti Noblett, business owner; Mona Diaz, trustee/marketing director.


Jay Varney, Chowchilla police chief; Michael Salvador, undersheriff; Dennis L. Fairbanks, retired California Highway Patrol supervisor; Michael B. Kime, retired Madera police chief; Greg Noll, a Fresno police sergeant; Frank Gauthier, corporate security manager.


Scott Runtzel, an appraiser/broker; Gary L. Svanda, retired financial adviser.

Tulare County


Dave Whaley, retired undersheriff; Mike Boudreaux, acting sheriff.

Porterville City Council

(Vote for 2) John "Juan" Duran, retired inmate supervisor; Larry Harper, real estate broker; Shawn Cable, correctional sergeant; Pete V. McCracken, incumbent; Milt Stowe, retired recreation director; Matthew Green, law clerk; Shawn Schwartzenberger, retired hull technician; Russell R. Fletcher, student/business owner; Christopher Morton, no ballot designation.

Dinuba City Council

In other Tulare County election news, Dinuba Council Member Janet Hinesly is the target of a recall election. Nathaniel "Nate" Mendoza, a reverend, is the only candidate on the ballot to replace Hinesly if the recall succeeds.

Check for breaking news.

The Fresno Bee is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service

Top Jobs

View All Top Jobs

Find a Home

$4,700,000 Fresno
. The property consists of 44. 9 acres of land bisected ...

Find a Car

Search New Cars