Library Bookshelf: Clancy, Connelly top new arrivals

FresnoDecember 14, 2013 

The Fresno County Library's Bookshelf column shares suggestions for books, music and other items and provides information about library programs.

Top 5 most requested books

"Takedown Twenty: A Stephanie Plum Novel" by Janet Evanovich

"Sycamore Row" by John Grisham

"Valley of Amazement" by Amy Tan

"Allegiant" by Veronica Roth

"Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Hard Luck" by Jeff Kinney

New arrivals

"Command Authority: A Jack Ryan Novel" by Tom Clancy. Russia has a new strong man, but his ascension to control is founded on a shadowy secret buried years in the past. President Jack Ryan holds the answer to that mystery.

"The Gods of Guilt" by Michael Connelly. Defense attorney Mickey Haller receives a text message, "Call me ASAP - 187," and he instantly thinks of the California penal code for murder. Murder cases have the biggest rewards and the largest payoffs, and they mean that Haller must be in top form.

"Cross My Heart" by James Patterson. Detective Alex Cross' love of his family is his anchor and provides the power to challenge evil in his chosen profession. One man understands this completely and uses this as a weapon against him. When the family that Cross cherishes is in peril, he will do everything to defend them, but if he does anything to protect them, they will die.

Staff reads

"Baking Cakes in Kigali: a Novel" by Gaile Parkin. Fans of Alexander McCall Smith's series, "The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency," might enjoy this book set in Rwanda, revolving around the clients of baker Angel Tungaraza.

"Second Watch" by J.A. Jance. In this 21st entry in the J.P. Beaumont series, Beau undergoes a double knee replacement. His first ever homicide case (unsolved) is reopened when the victim comes to him in a vision while recuperating in the hospital. He discovers a long-ago cover-up and deal making in the Seattle PD, while also reflecting on his time serving in Vietnam. Another suspenseful story from Jance, available in both paper and e-book.

"The Entertainer: Movies, Magic, and My Father's Twentieth Century" by Margaret Talbot. In this story of her father's (actor Lyle Talbot) life, the author relates the tale of popular culture from small-town America of the 1910s and '20s to Hollywood of the 1940s and '50s.

Upcoming events

Sunday Afternoon Family Movies: A family-friendly movie will be shown and popcorn will be provided for your movie enjoyment, 2-4 p.m. Sunday, Dec. 15, at the Sunnyside Library. Details: 600-6594.

Zoo Visit: This fun, educational and interactive program will teach you about animals at the zoo. Attendees must be between the grades of kindergarten and sixth. 1-2 p.m. Wednesday, Dec. 18, at the Clovis City Council Chambers, sponsored by the Clovis Library. Details: 600-9531.

Connect with Classics: Love to read? Want to catch up on old and new classics? Join us for a discussion about a new book every month. This month's book is "Loon Lake" by E.L. Doctorow. You can join the book club at any time, for any book, 7-8 p.m Thursday, Dec. 19, at the Woodward Park Library. Details: 600-3135.

Winter Wonderland Holiday Extravaganza: Pictures with Santa, games, crafts and more, 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday, Dec. 21, at the Fowler Library. Details: 600-9281.

 

This is a weekly column written by the Fresno County Public Library staff. The library posts a full list of the week's events on Facebook. Events are usually free. Visit fresnolibrary.org or call (559) 600-6227 for details.

The Fresno Bee is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service