Valley Runner of the Year champions: Maria Rivera; J.K. Lundberg and Jesus Campos

The Fresno BeeOctober 28, 2013 

This year's 15-race Valley Runner of the Year series crowned seven champions Saturday at the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure at Fresno State.

In the men's open division, J.K. Lundberg and Jesus Campos tied for the co-championship at 133 points.

Lundberg, who won the men's open division in 2010 and 2011, finished ninth at Saturday's race in 17 minutes flat — just outside the top seven spots for that award. He needed one point to break a tie with Campos, who did not race Saturday. The co-championship is Campos' first after third-place series finishes in 2012, 2011 and 2009.

In the women's open division, Visalia's Maria Rivera — who finished fourth last year — clinched the crown with 160 points. Rivera won all seven races she competed in this year.

Fresno's Ted Albertson took the men's masters division with 124 points and Steffani Sanchez clinched the women's masters with 172 points. Sanchez finished first among 40- to 44-year-olds at the Komen race in 21:07.

Nestor Ayala Sr. won his fourth straight men's senior Runner of the Year title with 180 points and Maia Pucay — the 2005 and 2008 women's masters ROY — took the women's senior title with 180 points. The pair ran perfect in 2013, each winning their division in all nine series races they competed in.

The Fresno Bee is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service