City Council election races in the Valley

The Fresno BeeOctober 24, 2012 

The Fresno Bee lists the candidates in city council elections across the Valley.


Coalinga (vote for 2): i-Ron Lander, Richard Hill, Christopher K. Scrivner, Patrick Keough

Firebaugh (vote for 3): Freddy Valdez, David Van Pelt, John Baltierra, i-Javier Marquez, George Conklin, Felipe Perez, Sonia Rodriguez, i-Jim Lowe, Craig Knight, Brady Jenkins Jr.

Fowler (vote for 3): Mark Rodriquez, Murray McManus, Jose R. Alvarez, Sandie Monis, Leonard J. Hammer, i-Daniel Parra, Gary Mukai, Craig J. Mellon

Fresno District 2: Steve Brandau, Pat Di Cicco

Kerman (vote for 2): Nathan Fox, Dilber "Bill" Nijjer, Charles H. Jones (separate race: Mayor Gary K. Yep unopposed)

Kingsburg (vote for 2): Joel Rogers, Ben Creighton, i-Chet Reilly, Charlie L. Soto (also: i-Michelle Roman unopposed for short-term seat)

Mendota (vote for 2): i-Joseph R. Riofrio, Sergio Valdez, i-John C. Flores, Joshua Garcia

Orange Cove (vote for 2): i-Gilbert Garcia, i-Esther Gonzalez, Diana Guerra Silva, Victor P. Lopez

Orange Cove recalls: Bertha Alicia Del Bosque running for Glenda Hill's seat if Hill is recalled; Ralph J. Pardo running for Frank R. Martinez's seat if Martinez is recalled

Parlier District 1: i-Juan M. Montano, Zonia Tovar

Parlier District 3: i-Raul M. Villanueva unopposed

Reedley District 1: Henry "Rick" Rodriguez, Dawn M. Barcellos

Reedley District 3: i-Robert O. Beck unopposed

Reedley District 5: i-Anita Betancourt, Steven Rapada

Sanger Mayor: Victor Ruiz, Adrian Villarreal, i-Joshua Mitchell, Randy E. Guerra

Sanger District 1: Raul Cantu Jr., i-Martin F. Castellano

Sanger District 3: Tony Pacheco, Victor Moreno

Selma (vote for 3): Scott Robertson, i-Dennis Lujan, i-Jim Avalos, Andy Gonzales, i-George Rodriguez


Avenal (vote for 3): i-Harlin Casida, i-Dagoberto Ovalle, W.L. "Bill" Woolley, Martin L. Maldonado, Roldan DeLeon, Lupe Chavez

Corcoran (vote for 2): i-Antonia Baltierra, i-Jim Wadsworth, Paul A. Smart, Mark P. Cartwright

Hanford Area B: Russ Curry, Robin Mattos

Hanford Area C: Gary L. Pannett, Mike Spicer, Douglas Soper, Meik Head

Lemoore (vote for 3): i-William "Billy" Siegel, i-John F. Murray, i-John Plourde, Lois "Zercher" Wynne, Edward "Eddie" Neal


Chowchilla (vote for 3): John Chavez, Waseem Ahmed, Kelly Smith, Richard L. Walker, i-Dennis Haworth


Exeter (vote for 2): i-Robyn Stearns, i-W. Dale Sally Jr., Paul Myers

Farmersville (vote for 2): Greg Gomez, Doug Terry, i-Paul Boyer, i-Don Rowlett

Lindsay (vote for 3): i-Ed Murray, Rosaena Sanchez, i-Pamela Gail Kimball, i-Esteban "Steve" Velasquez, Eric Eugene Perfecto Sinclair, Timothy S. Daubert, Steven A. Mecum

Tulare District 1: Alberto Aguilar, Cheyne Strawn, Carlton Jones, Scott C. Daley

Tulare District 5: Craig Vejvoda, Wayne Ross (note: both are current council members, but this is the first time for district elections in the city)

Woodlake (vote for 2): i-Rudy Mendoza, Michael Navarro, Lucy Cardenas, i-Joe Martinez, Virgil Mark Murehead


Source: County elections offices

The Fresno Bee is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service

Top Jobs

Find a Home

$679,900 Fresno
5 bed, 3 full bath, 1 half bath. This entertainer's dream...

Find a Car

Search New Cars